Money In, Money Logo

Privacy policy

As a business and as individuals we take your privacy very seriously. We will never collect or share your personal information and where possible will prevent ourselves from being able to access it. If you have any questions, send us a message.


Your financial data

As you add your transactions, they will be summarised and displayed in your Timeline, so you have a searchable, chronological list of when, what, and how much. A summary of the current period is displayed in the widget and on the timeline. An archive of your reports is saved in your iCloud Drive, which will be automatically kept up-to-date for you. 

Money In's transactions are incomes, which have: amount, currency, payee, income type, date of issue and when the payment is due, additionally you can add payments, a project, a note, a repeat frequency and a proof image e.g an invoice.

Money Out's transactions are expenses, which contain:  amount, currency, description, category, date and payment type data, additionally you can add a client, a project, a note, a repeat frequency and a receipt image. 

Any expenses and incomes that you add  can be edited or deleted any time, either from your Timeline or in the income or expense detail view. We can't access your manually-entered financial data.

 

Data portability

All data you add is your own and you are in control of it. You can export reports to iCloud Drive, Dropbox and Google Drive, share through all the normal ways, even copy the CSV to your clipboard, at any time. Reports are exported as a CSV spreadsheet, which is compatible with any spreadsheet, text or accountancy software. Your archive of reports is stored in your iCloud, and will remain even if you delete the apps. We can't access your data.

 

Data storage & security

An archive of your incomes and expenses, grouped by financial period, are stored on your device and in your iCloud Drive report archive. You can access your report archive from all iOS and Mac devices or on the web. Links to your proof images will be shared with your accountant, when you submit a financial period. This allows them to validate your incomes and expenses... and they will be crucial if you ever get a tax inspection! Your data is stored securely on your iPhone and your iCloud Drive, which is protected by Apple FBI-proof 256-bit AES encryption... Not even we can access it.

 

Other data

Additionally to your financial data, Money In and Money Out will need and store other data to provide you an optimal experience. All data can be edited or removed:

Your name and your company name

You will be asked to enter these during onboarding, the first time you use the apps. It's used to name your spreadsheets and to pre-fill the email which is sent to your accountant when you submit. You can edit them at any time in the apps settings in Account. We do not have access to your name or company's name.

Your financial periods

You will be asked to select the start date of your first financial period and the duration of your financial periods during onboarding, the first time you use the apps. It can be edited at anytime in the apps settings in Account. This allows your transactions to be grouped correctly and you can be reminded to submit them to your accountant on time. You can also access the latest current period's summary in the widgets and the app. We do not have access to your financial period information.

Your accountant's name and email

You will be asked to enter your accountant's name and email during onboarding the first time you use the apps. This allows the email to be pre-filled to make submission to your accountant. You can edit this at anytime in the apps settings in Account. We do not have access to your accountant's name or email.

 

Permissions

Money In and Money Out will need serveral iOS permissions to be granted to provide you an optimal experience. All permissions can be enabled or disabled:

Notifications

You will be asked to allow notifications during onboarding the first time you use the apps. You can change your notifications permissions at anytime in the apps settings in Permissions or in iOS Settings. Notifications are used to let you know when repeating expenses are auto-added, when a payment is due, and to remind you to submit your reports on time. Nothing spammy.

Location

You will be asked to allow access to your location during onboarding the first time you use the apps. You can change your location permissions at anytime in the apps settings in Permissions or in iOS Settings. Your location is used to switch your currency when you are travelling, so the apps handle the currency conversions for you. We never store, share or upload your current location. We do not have access to your current location.

Background App Refresh

You will be asked to enable Background App Refresh during onboarding, the first time you use the apps, if it's not enabled already. It allows the apps to keep working, even when you're not, allowing it to auto-add repeating transactions, getting latest exchange rate data and sync with your iCloud reports archive. You can change your permissions at anytime in the apps settings in Background App Refresh settings or in iOS Settings.

Analytics

Are used to keep improving the apps, are optional and set to off by default. You will be asked to enable analytics during onboarding, the first time you use the apps. No personal information is stored, or shared and it's totally anonymous.

Access to your camera

You will be asked to allow access to your camera the first time you want to add a proof of transaction image using your camera. You can change your camera permissions at anytime in the apps settings in Permissions or in iOS Settings. We do not have access to your camera.

Access to your photos

You will be asked to allow access to your photos the first time you want to add a proof of transaction image from your photo library. You can change your Photos permissions at anytime in the apps settings in Permissions or in iOS Settings. We do not have access to your Photos.

Access to your contacts

You will be asked to allow access to your contacts if you choose to add your accountants name and email for contacts, opposed to typing it in yourself. You can change your contacts permissions at anytime in the apps settings in Permissions or in iOS Settings. We do not have access to your contacts.